Our regular followers know that I took Keith to the clinic last week because he wasn’t doing well – turned out his hemoglobin numbers had dropped. A lot. They gave him a shot and some fluids that seemed to help for a bit. He went for his regularly scheduled blood tests today and we just got the call that his numbers dropped a little more. Not good. Very Not Good.

We’re expecting a call in the morning that he needs a blood transfusion. This is a first for him. It’s not necessarily unheard of, but it’s not good. We don’t know why his numbers have dropped, so once we get him a little more stable we’ve got to get that figured out. He’s not showing signs of the most common problems, and I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.

To make matters worse (those who are friends on Facebook know) I got some sort of stomach virus last week and ended up in urgent care getting fluids. Normally this kind of virus a day or two – but as I understand it there is a strain out right now that can last 2 weeks. Guess which one I have? I’m much better than I was this time last week, but I still get pretty nauseous whenever I get up and walk around and totally exhausted.

When you add in that I have a pile of freelance writing to do, the usual paperwork that needs to be done, a kid who leaves for college in two weeks with a host of things that need to be done (from physical to refrigerator) and a rising 7th grader who starts next week…things are complicated. And overwhelming. Honestly, I’m at a bit of a loss at the moment.

I’ll post updates as I can. Please subscribe to keep up-to-date on the latest.